The Children’s Home has a rich history in the Hudson Valley. For over 170 years a dedicated group of volunteers, paid staff and consultants have worked to carry out the mission of the Children’s Home, making the Home a place of healing and hope.

    Board of Directors

    Our Board of Directors is comprised of generous community members who have been selected for their knowledge, expertise and commitment to our mission.

    2018-2019 Board of Directors

    Alicia Dean, President

    Vice President in charge of:
    Governance – Maureen Crush
    Resource Development – Patricia W. Goodemote
    Investment –Alyssa Bowers
    Program – Susan K. Stoller

    Agnes Laub, Treasurer
    Jessica L. Vinall, Assistant Treasurer
    Amy Dittmar, Secretary

    Carol Barmann
    Rebecca Coles
    Christopher Downey
    Rochelle Friedman
    Mary McGowan
    Vanessa Rice
    Donald K. Stammer

    Walter J. Joseph, Executive Director


    The Children’s Home of Poughkeepsie employs over 225 individuals who care for our children and youth, 24-hours a day, seven days a week. These dedicated employees work in various departments including; administration, direct care, social services, medical, housekeeping, maintenance and food services.

    Agency Directors

    Walter J. Joseph, MPA – ext. 106
    Executive Director
    Email Walt

    John Bray, BS – ext. 117
    Director of Operations
    Email John

    Erin M. Cafarelli, BA – ext. 177
    Director of Development and Public Relations
    Email Erin

    David A. Crenshaw, Ph.D., ABPP – ext. 162
    Clinical Director
    Email Dr. Crenshaw

    Denise Fowler, LCSW-R – ext. 169
    Incident Review Coordinator
    Email Denise

    Danielle Mitchell, BA – ext. 101
    Director of Human Resources
    Email Danielle

    Courtney Rovere, LCSW – ext. 145
    Director of Community Based Services
    Email Courtney

    Loida Sarabia, BA – ext. 172
    Fiscal Director
    Email Loida

    Julia L. Schembari, LCSW – ext. 210
    Program Director, Foster Care Programs
    Email Julia

    Lori Stella, LCSW-R – ext. 188
    Program Director, Safe Harbour Program
    Email Lori

    RaeAnn Tompkins, LCSW-R – ext. 166
    Director of Social Services
    Email RaeAnn

    Janel M. Winters – ext. 119
    IT Director
    Email Janel